Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Focal Lengths with movements for Tachihara 4x5

Focal Lengths with movements for Tachihara 4x5

Good evening. I am new to large format photography and recently bought a Tachihara 4x5 field camera. I would appreciate the help on what range of focal lengths will work with this camera to help me narrow my search for my first lens or two.

I am a newer member and unable to access the buy/sell section of the forum but would greatly enjoy any feedback that is willing to be given.

Thank you in advance.

Matt

Re: Focal Lengths with movements for Tachihara 4x5

Look for lenses in good shutters in the 150mm-210mm range. If you want a wider view go to 90mm.

Hmm. Pick the focal length you want and then look for a lens with that focal length and enough coverage. In post #2 above, Jim Noel suggested some focal lengths that are commonly used on 4x5. Thing is, not all lenses with those focal lengths will cover 4x5.

I had a 4x5 Tachihara for ten years. I successfully used 90mm lenses (wide angle) and a 300/9 Nikkor-M (long). Mr. Noel's advice above is good.

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

If you go with a bag bellows and/or recessed lensboard, you can use an even shorter focal length with movements. If you use a telephoto lens, you can use a longer lens than the standard bellows will allow. But I agree with Dan, let your vision decide your focal lengths.
    "I love my Verito lens, but I always have to sharpen everything in Photoshop..."

There are lenses that range from 47mm up to 300mm, 600mm and beyond that cover 4x5.
    Some of those lenses will offer more movements on 4x5 because they make a larger image circle when light goes through them.
    What Jim said is good advice. Start simple, with a normal, long or wide lens.
    This page is for 4x5 lenses: https://www.largeformatphotography.i...s/LF4x5in.html

Huub