Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is the current trend on using dark cloth?

What is the current trend on using dark cloth?

I’m just a beginner on LF with my 4x5 camera and I’d like to learn what is the best way to use dark cloth, ie do you keep it attached to your camera while you slide the film holder (which is pretty difficult to do) or do you take it off and then slide the film holder? How do you guarantee nothing moves when you do these?

Foamer

Re: What is the current trend on using dark cloth?

I just use either a jacket or a black t-shirt. I use it to frame and focus, and then simply drop it on the snow under my tripod. Nothing fancy.

Kent in SD
    In contento ed allegria
    Notte e di vogliam passar!

David Schaller

You lock everything down when you've got the focus you want. Hopefully nothing moves either way. I do not use an attached dark cloth, often just a jacket, so I don't have anything attached to the camera.

When you get your camera, you will decide some of these things based on your own experience. There is no cutting edge science on a lot of these questions.

I always carry a change bag and so far I've just used that. I may buy a cloth soon, and if I do I won't get one with elastic that hugs the camera as I worry about that moving things. That said many people use the elastic ones and are happy with them.
    Rob Gray — Nature Photographer Extraordinaire
    www.robgray.com

I have never used a dark cloth with my 4x5. I use a pop-out hood and long-reach loupe.

What is the current trend on using dark cloth?

For 4x5, during the not summer times I just use my jacket. Summertime I pack a dark cloth.

For 8x10 I always pack a dark cloth. Jacket’s a bit too tight sometimes.

Foamer

Quote Originally Posted by GRAYnomad View Post