Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Contact Prints Without Enlarger?

Contact Prints Without Enlarger?

Newbie here. Just starting out with 8x10 with an interest in contact prints without an enlarger. I want to try Lodima or Lupex paper in Amidol developer and work on (eventually) making high-quality contact prints.

What type of light source, shade, reflector, etc. would be suitable for this?
    Can I use a softbox for a more diffused/even light?
    Does the CRI of the bulb matter?
    Should I get bulbs in a few different wattages e.g. 75W, 150W, 300W to experiment?

I am sure there are others who make contact prints in this manner without an enlarger. What are your experiences/advice?

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

Re: Contact Prints Without Enlarger?

Thanks for pointing me to this ^ thread.

Based on information in the other thread any bulb is ok. But I am a bit confused. When using an enlarger, the contrast can be controlled by the 00 to 5 filters (I think they are called filters). Looking at them they are colored filters which I suppose control/filter various parts of the light spectrum. So if I am understanding correctly, essentially the print contrast is controlled by the type of light that paper is exposed to. Why then it does not matter what type of bulb is used for exposing Lodima/Lupex? Would a halogen bulb, vs LED vs fluorescent bulb not yield different levels of contrast?

I am probably making it too complicated but just in general, I am a bit confused that a filter can affect the contrast under an enlarger but the light type does not matter when exposing paper under a bare bulb.

use graded paper...a 30 watt bulb you hook up to a pulley for shorter or longer exposures
    if you want to use VC paper find yourself a cheap enlarger and use the filters..

Quote Originally Posted by jamgolf View Post