Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Burke & James 5x7

Burke & James 5x7

I picked up a B&J 5x7 and I'll admit I have no knowledge of this camera. From what I can tell, it is likely a <edited> Commercial View <end edit>. It is a model with a tailboard. That said I could be totally wrong on that. Battleship gray with red bellows.

It came with an old lens and shutter that gives no clue of the focal length. Rough measurement would suggest about a 200mm lens.

Now my question is this: what is the shortest and the longest lens that I can mount on it without the extension bellows and tail?

This is my first jump into 5x7. I realize that the B&J is not well liked by many, but it's what I could find and as a bundle wasn't a horrible deal. Lol

Thanks.
    Robert
    Last edited by NebrGuy; 15-Feb-2021 at 16:16.

Re: Burke & James 5x7

I like them

A picture would help

I have a Model One Rembrandt 5X7 which is non folding

I mostly use a Xenar 240mm f4.5

It has a factory Packard shutter with sync

Here is one, not mine https://www.largeformatphotography.i...p-Gear-125-S-H
    Tin Can

I had a B&J 5x7 back in the 1990s. It was a good camera and I wish I still had it. They are a bit clunky and painted grey. But they are ruggedly built. I stripped and refinished mine. It looked nice.

They have all the movements, but some are a bit fiddly to do.

Wish I still had one.
    Drew Bedo
    www.quietlightphoto.com
    http://www.artsyhome.com/author/drew-bedo

There are only three types of mounting flanges; too big, too small and wrong thread!

Sorry about that. I was on my phone when I made the original post.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20210215_155950091~2.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	59.7 KB 
ID:	212747
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0067-Edit~2.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	80.5 KB 
ID:	212746