Thread: Hello from a beginner

Hello from a beginner

Hi everyone from Ontario Canada! I am new to large format photography and am just putting together my kit ( so far just a 4x5 Intrepid). I have 35mm and digital experience but am looking to slow things down and be more conscious of my decision making. Really looking forward to learning/contributing to the forum and making some new friends. Now I am off to spend what little money I have on some lens

Ray Van Nes

Re: Hello from a beginner

Welcome from Calgary. Should be able to find a basic lens for not too much money. Possibly start with a more modern one as it is most likely to in working order. The great thing about mechanical shutters is that they can be cleaned and serviced. My oldest is from 1914 , works great.

Welcome aboard. You've probably noticed the wealth of useful information on the LF home page and previous discussion threads. There's a lot here to guide recent beginners like us. Enjoy!

[QUOTE= looking to slow things down and be more conscious of my decision making. [/QUOTE]

Good choice. Large format photography helps to train and improve our "executive function" balancing the two counterproductive urges we all have to one degree or another, to act without thinking or think without acting.