Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pyrocat adjustments/improvements

Pyrocat adjustments/improvements

Hi all,

So, Ive run my first trial of developing TMax 400 in Pyrocat-M (this is also the first time Ive made and used Pyrocat). And Im not sure what to make of it, and if possible Id like som advise on how to improve the results.

I did as follows in a Jobo at the lowest rotation speed (TMax 400 exposed at 200, 300 and 400 iso shot with a Pentax 67II):

1 - pre soak 5 min
    2 - developing | 1+1+100 (8ml + 8ml + 800ml) | 13 min 15 secs | 19,5 - 20 C / 67-68F
    3 - wash/stop (plain water) 2 times 30 secs
    4 - fix 5 min
    5 - wash 8 times 2 min
    6 - stab 1 min

Im not an expert when it comes to evaluate negatives, but after scanning (filpped using colorperfect and 2 grade simulation) these negatives Id say
    - they lack 'volume' or that they are flat or slightly faded...
    - Unsharp (can be caused by lens/aperture/shutter speed, but som other photos I made the same day with the same equipment with Portra 160 are sharp).

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1 TMAX 400 at 400.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	34.7 KB 
ID:	212108 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 TMAX 400 at 400 fifty percent zoom.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	212109

When it comes to the negatives themseleves I suspect they might be thin, but again, Im not an expert when it comes to evaluating negatives.

I also developed a roll of TMax 100 (iso 50, 75 and 100) in the same run and I prefer it.

Name:	3 TMAX 100 at 100.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	34.5 KB 
ID:	212110 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 TMAX 100 at 100 fifty percent zoom.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	212111

The thing is, Id like to get into carbon printing eventually so I need to figure out how to use TMax 400... is there any way I could make TMax 400 more like TMax 100?