Thread: Fresnel screen direction

Fresnel screen direction

Hello everyone.
    I just wanted to ask if it is me that's the problem.

Ive been using a plastic Fresnel for many years, but Ive always had it with the uneven side towards me (where I put the Loupe). Now i read that its actually wrong.

I moved it around so that the flat side is towards me, but it was much better before. Now I have to be much more straight in front of the glas, otherwise I get sharp falloff patterns (circles) on the sides.

I never had any problems with sharpness or similar using the fresnel in the wrong direction.

Any reasons why I should go back to the former installation?
    -----------------
    4x5 and 6x6 stuff

Re: Fresnel screen direction

Go to the bottom of this page and read "Similar Threads"

My answer is

Depends
    Tin Can

Thanks. Nice feature, but none of those gave the answer I wanted... Just wanted to know if anyone else prefer the "frosty" side of the fresnel.
    -----------------
    4x5 and 6x6 stuff

I've always heard that the rough side should face the lens (ergo, smooth side toward you) and that the fresnel should sit on top of the ground glass. I only have one 4x5 with a fresnel installed and that's the way it's on the camera. No issues with focusing or any other concerns. And, yes, it's normal that the view becomes quite a bit darker as you move off the center axis of the fresnel.