Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SP-445 agitation test results challenging

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

SP-445 agitation test results challenging

The following post is embarrassing to me, but I’ll survive, especially if a solution if found.

With a little vacation time recently, I finally got around to testing specifically for even agitation with the SP-445 tank, which I have been using for about two years. I had decided to test, even though I have been generally happy with image results from the start, only occasionally noticing a slight variation in large even-toned areas that left me wondering if something were a little amiss. I’m not a landscape-and-sky photographer, mostly; portraits or other more complex subjects that tend to hide such variations are my line. Someone will ask, then, why bother? Because it’s a simple, very basic matter and I don’t like settling for “okay,” least of all in matters of basic craft.

With larger film batches I use a Jobo tank on a roller for continuous agitation and get very even tone indeed. The 445’s low sheet capacity, however, is a great addition. I am not going to return to tray processing. Others report nice even results from the 445; it’s a valuable piece of equipment.