Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Copal sizes

Copal sizes

Im just getting into LF and wanted to know how the copal size relates to the lenses. For instance in looking to purchase a 300mm lens, I see some in a Copal 1 and some in Copal 3. I know the size of Copals, but what I do not know if why these would be differant from the same FL lens, and/or which is appropriate for that or other particular lenses

Re: Copal sizes

Depends on the lens and what image goal needs are.

Best to decided on print image goals first, then what film-process, then lens needed to meet these needs with the camera nothing more than a support device for these needs.

Bernice

Quote Originally Posted by decoff View Post
    Im just getting into LF and wanted to know how the copal size relates to the lenses. For instance in looking to purchase a 300mm lens, I see some in a Copal 1 and some in Copal 3. I know the size of Copals, but what I do not know if why these would be differant from the same FL lens, and/or which is appropriate for that or other particular lenses
    decoff,

The shutter size is related to the diameter of the lens where it mounts to the shutter, and that will in turn depend upon the lens construction and the size of the glass it needs to accommodate.

What I expect you are seeing is a 300mm f5.6 lens mounted in a Copal 3 versus a 300mm f9 lens in a Copal 1...

If you look at images and / or specs for those two different lenses, you will find the former being extremely large relative to the latter.

Hope that helps,

Len

BTW, Bernice is right...

Just to add to Bernice and Len...

Besides largest maximum aperture, the amount of coverage the lens produces affects it's design too. A 300mm lens that produces a large enough image circle to cover 8x10 is going to be larger than a 300mm lens that only covers 4x5.