Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Social Media 101

Social Media 101

Greetings - I am looking for some help with optimizing my marketing reach to gain more exposure for my work on the primary social media platforms (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter). The platform I want to come up to speed mostly on is Instagram. Anyone considering themselves an 'Instagram Pro' willing to help?

Thanks,
    Craig
    www.veritaseditions.com

Re: Social Media 101

I'm an Instagram beginner, not pro, but I think I can give you the gist of it. For starters, it is photo-based in that each post is a photo with some text. This is as opposed to Facebook, where one might post a photo, video, or just some text, a web link, etc.

You start a "feed," which is your account, where you will post your photos. Each time you post a photo, you can accompany it with some text, and with hashtags, which are the big deal in Instagram. For example (based on your work I saw at Veritas), you might add the hashtag #fineartblackandwhite or #saintjuniperoserra. Then anyone who searches for either of those hashtag will be taken to a page where your photograph will appear, along with all others having that hashtag. You can add as many hashtags as you'd like. For the photograph below, which was taken at the Klamath Marsh Wildlife Refuge I used the hashtags #blackandwhitelandscape, #klamathmarsh, #4x5film, #4x5photography.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	klamath_marsh_final.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	47.3 KB 
ID:	210483