Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minor issue with Chamonix 45F2 bellows/front standard

Minor issue with Chamonix 45F2 bellows/front standard

Hello everyone,

I just got my Chamonix 45F2. I'm pleased with it overall, but noticed some issue.

As can be seen from the picture, the front standard isn't completely upright when compressed.
    This is more noticeable in real life than in pictures. I think the bellows itself is slightly slanted.

Because of this the front standard sits unevenly on the bed when folded. Also the rise/tilt knob doesn't fit the dimple on the rear standard. It's not that big deal I guess, but can't deny it bugs me.

Since it's my first time getting a field camera, I don't know if it's something I could live with. Do other cameras have this symptoms? It would be great if I could hear opinions from other Chamonix owners.

Thank you.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KakaoTalk_20201207_190523176.jpg 
Views:	74 
Size:	53.2 KB 
ID:	210301

Name:	KakaoTalk_20201207_190523176_01.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	67.2 KB 
ID:	210302

Re: Minor issue with Chamonix 45F2 bellows/front standard

You probably are not folding it up correctly. There is a bit of a trick to it, but the screw that tightens the front standard to the bed should end up pointing towards the front of the camera -- check out the photos of the camera closed on their website.

I have the 11x14.

Edited to add: Whoops, it seems the photos of their other cameras of the same design show the screw pointed forward when folded -- but not the F2. The others can be folded either way, but by putting the screw forward there is less stress on the camera hinges when closed. So you might just give it a try and see if screw forward is a better fold for you. The asymmetrical tilts give it a little bit of a different back design than their other formats, but judging from the videos I have seen of this camera in use, it is worth a try.