Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Economical Continuous Lighting

Economical Continuous Lighting

I am working on a slit-scan photography project and I am realizing it would be really helpful to have good control of the lighting since there are so many other funky variables involved. Slit-scan won't work with strobes, so I am looking for continuous lights.

I want to:
    - Light a full body evenly with soft lighting, minimizing shadows
    - Use color and black and white film
    - Throw enough light to use small apertures for deep DOF

The room I'm shooting in has some ambient day light (EV 9 @ ISO 100) and I want to add two stops. The camera and lights will all be a few feet from the model.

I have zero experience with studio lighting and don't want to spend a fortune on it. I noticed lots of used arri 300s for sale on ebay but thought they might throw hard shadows and I'm worried about the color temp. There are lots of cheap LED fixtures and kits on amazon but I'm worried they won't be bright enough or just fall apart.

I probably won't use this stuff often, so it doesn't need to last forever. That said, my general preference is for used quality equipment over new crap.

Any suggestions?

Les

Re: Economical Continuous Lighting

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	REFL LIGHT.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	12.5 KB 
ID:	209907

This may be my approach along with this...or perhaps 2 units, which would give off 1500 watts. One can easily manipulate that.
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...l?sts=pi&pim=Y

Arri lights (HMI's) are less prone to change color on you, but they require specific ballast and are usually pretty expensive....even the used ones.

There are other ways to do this.

Les

I've actually been faking it with a portable quartz halogen work light, which I suspect is the same bulb as that. Maybe I just need some diffusers.

My first studio lights 2003 were Lowel Tota-Light Tungsten Flood Light