Thread: Aerostigmat 10'' 250mm f/4.5

Aerostigmat 10'' 250mm f/4.5

I have an offer pending from a seller on a Kodak Rochester Aerostigmat 10'' 250mm f/4.5. I am looking to use this on my speed graphic. Has anyone used this lens and can give me feed back. Mostly it would be for portraits and still life studio shots. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Still shooting film in Dover, DE USA.
    www.stillshootingfilm.com

Re: Aerostigmat 10'' 250mm f/4.5

Do you have enough draw on the bellows? The Speed Graphic has about 12" of draw, and the lens may need more for closer focusing.
    Best,
    Dennis

Quote Originally Posted by pendennis View Post
    Do you have enough draw on the bellows? The Speed Graphic has about 12" of draw, and the lens may need more for closer focusing.
    This is exactly why I am looking for anyone who as experience using this lens.
    Still shooting film in Dover, DE USA.
    www.stillshootingfilm.com

I have no experience with the Aerostigmat, but it is a tessar type that was designed in the 1930s. Aerial camera lens optimized for distant subjects. It should be a good enough lens but as pendennis pointed out above it is long for your intended use with your Speed. If you want to shoot portraits and still lifes with a 250 mm lens a 10" telephoto such as the 10"/5.6 TeleRaptar/TeleOptar would be a better choice.

come to the dark s(l)ide..... Carsten Wolff's Avatar
    Australia at the moment, Spain or UK one day perhaps

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fromm View Post
    I have no experience with the Aerostigmat, but it is a tessar type that was designed in the 1930s. Aerial camera lens optimized for distant subjects. It should be a good enough lens but as pendennis pointed out above it is long for your intended use with your Speed. If you want to shoot portraits and still lifes with a 250 mm lens a 10" telephoto such as the 10"/5.6 TeleRaptar/TeleOptar would be a better choice.