Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Suggest a place that can make some developing tubes

Suggest a place that can make some developing tubes

In advance, yes, I know this is ridiculous etc. Now that that’s over with...

I’d like to try a variation on tubes-rolling-in-trays processing. Part of this involves a simple tube design I’ve thought about for a long time - picture a regular open tube but slightly barrel shaped (bowed out) instead of straight.

Since this would not be a daylight process (I don’t care if I’m in the dark), I’ve thought of a few ways of making (more like cobbling together) these myself. However that limits me in a few ways, including materials, so I’m wondering if I can outsource it.

Can anybody recommend a good machine/fabrication shop that could make something like this, either out of a plastic, or perhaps stainless? I have a few places so far, but really I have zero experience with this sort of thing.

Thanks

Re: Suggest a place that can make some developing tubes

Might you be willing to DIY the tubes? If both ends are open you could simply heat Plexiglass tubing in an oven to about 160 degrees Celsius and then apply gentle pressure to deform the tube. This would give you an oval tube-is that what you are looking for?

Richard Wasserman

https://www.rwasserman.com/

45er

What sort of sized tube?

Need more details...

Richard - No I’d like them to be round all the way through. I’ve thought of a few ways of DYI-ing. We’ll see.

seall - These would be for 4x5 sheet film, so basically 5” in length. I haven’t decided exactly on the diameter but figure somewhere between 2” and 3” at each end, maybe 1/2” bigger in the middle.

Edit: I'm attaching two rough lengthwise sketches. The one with the curve is what I'd like, but there are potentially a few workarounds which might be more simple (see second attachment for example - a straight tube with a chopped off cone on each end).

Click image for larger version.