Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Upgrading a lens shutter

  1. #1
    Gary Beasley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marietta Ga. East Cobb.
    Posts
    624

    Upgrading a lens shutter

    I have a Rodenstock Rotelar 270mm f5.6 lens in a Graphic Syncro Compuur shutter. I hate the fiddly way the preview works with this shutter and wouldnt mind replacing the shutter with a newer style Copal with a preview lever like my other lenses have.
    What do I need to know to accomplish this task? I need to source a shutter but then how do I get the correct f stop scale on it for that lens? Tips for ensuring proper element spacing is appreciated too.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 70D0A66B-62A9-40F7-B30A-4B29A44D54DD.jpeg  

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    13,471

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    Go to Jeff at Quality Camera behind GT and he should be able to help you. He is by appointment only.

  3. #3
    loujon
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Western, PA.
    Posts
    1,555

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    It wont be simple swap out & it wont be inexpensive to have the proper thread couplers plus the new f stop scales

    I would sell this one & replace it with a like Tele lens in a factory mounted Copal shutter

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,903

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    Louie, no couplers are required. You may have been thinking of swapping cells from a Graflex 1000 shutter -- the lens was supplied in that shutter too -- into a regular normal #1.

    It is a simple swap, unscrew the cells from the old shutter and screw them into the new one. Compur #1 and Copal #1 shutters have the same tube lengths and threading so swapping cells from one to the other requires no adapters or machining.

    The new shutter will have to be scaled for the lens. skgrimes does this work and for all I know so does Quality Camera. I've had skg scale shutters. Gary, ask both for prices.

    Gary, I have a set of 270/6.6 Rotelar cells in the drawer. I b'lieve they were originally mounted in a Graflex 1000. They came to me in a Compur #1, have threaded bushings so they'll fit it. I had a better use for the shutter ... FWIW, I offered the cells to Mr. Galli. He and I are on good terms, occasionally give each other small gifts. He wouldn't take them, said he'd had one and it was terrible.

  5. #5
    loujon
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Western, PA.
    Posts
    1,555

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fromm View Post
    Louie, no couplers are required. You may have been thinking of swapping cells from a Graflex 1000 shutter -- the lens was supplied in that shutter too -- into a regular normal #1.

    It is a simple swap, unscrew the cells from the old shutter and screw them into the new one. Compur #1 and Copal #1 shutters have the same tube lengths and threading so swapping cells from one to the other requires no adapters or machining.

    The new shutter will have to be scaled for the lens. skgrimes does this work and for all I know so does Quality Camera. I've had skg scale shutters. Gary, ask both for prices.

    Gary, I have a set of 270/6.6 Rotelar cells in the drawer. I b'lieve they were originally mounted in a Graflex 1000. They came to me in a Compur #1, have threaded bushings so they'll fit it I had a better use for the shutter ... FWIW, I offered the cells to Mr. Galli. He and I are on good terms, occasionally give each other small gifts. He wouldn't take them, said he'd had one and it was terrible.
    WOW Great to know brother Dan! I just figured seeing how it's so rare for this type of swap out in my life.

  6. #6
    Gary Beasley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marietta Ga. East Cobb.
    Posts
    624

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Salomon View Post
    Go to Jeff at Quality Camera behind GT and he should be able to help you. He is by appointment only.
    Thanks Bob, that would make life a lot simpler.

  7. #7
    Gary Beasley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marietta Ga. East Cobb.
    Posts
    624

    Re: Upgrading a lens shutter

    Thank you all for the input. I found a nice Copal no 1 shutter in Japan for a very good price and it all fit like a glove. Now all my lenses have similar shutters and Im much happier with my lens.

Similar Threads

  1. Value of upgrading from CS3 to CS6?
    By Jay Decker in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 7-May-2012, 20:33
  2. Upgrading to Lion?
    By Ben Hopson in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 25-Jul-2011, 17:13
  3. Which Modern Lens to Start Upgrading an Older Lens Set?
    By Michael Heald in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 26-Jul-2006, 15:50
  4. Upgrading enlarger from MF to LF
    By Steve_321 in forum Darkroom: Equipment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8-Sep-1998, 14:46

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •