Thread: B's 4x5 Reel and FPP x-ray film

B's 4x5 Reel and FPP x-ray film

Hello,

I'm new to 4x5. Today was my first shot at shooting and developing 4x5. I bought some FPP double-sided x-ray film to learn with:

https://filmphotographystore.com/pro...film-25-sheets

I also bought a B's 4x5 reel for my Paterson tank:

https://www.bounetphoto.com/bounet-s...eveloping-reel

I shot two photos outside at ISO 10 and used HC-110 dilution H for 3.5min as recommended on the FPP website. Both shots look underexposed by about a stop. I'm not confident enough in my equipment to know whether the underexposure was the shutter (seems more likely to be slow) or light meter (iPhone app) or the development. I'm not sure whether to try again at ISO 5, push one stop when developing, or use a better light meter. Lots of options. Does anyone have any experience with this film and HC-110?

The second issue was that the film is double-sided and the center of back side emulsion of one of the photos stuck to the developing reel. When I got the negative out, there was a white vertical stripe of emulsion left there. Luckily, I was able to remove it by another dip in the fixer and a second wash free floating in the tank. Obviously, this is not an ideal process. Is this kind of thing a common issue with x-ray film or is this just a problem with the B's reel?

Thanks,
    Sam

Re: B's 4x5 Reel and FPP x-ray film

So many variables

If you can load film in holders and a B's you can tray develop one at a time

Time of day matters to X-Ray as does Sun

shoot Sunny 16 for a while, use exact developer instructions one at a time in a tray
    Tin Can