Thread: Lampheads, Powerpacks, & Still Life Photography

Lampheads, Powerpacks, & Still Life Photography

Hello!

I'm relatively new to using flash lighting whilst using my 8x10 camera.

I know that sync speed is not an issue with leaf shutters but more than that I would like to understand the following from your experiences especially when shooting indoor portraits or still life.

I am planning to use broncolor powerpacks and two lampheads.

1. Given that shutter speed sync is not an issue, is there a rule of thumb in terms of which shutter speed to use? I'm thinking that I should be thinking in aperture stops when shooting with flash.

2. What kind of metering techniques do you use with indoor flash photography especially with multiple light sources?

3. Is there a specific power rating I should look for in a power pack? 1600 Joules/Watts? 3200 Joules/Watts

Thanks!

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

Re: Lampheads, Powerpacks, & Still Life Photography

I am setting up a studio still life right now

Focus

I always use 1/30th with good leaf shutters to match my Packard shutters

I calculate ideal f stop first, then bellows correction for magnification, then using a flash meter I turn up my strobes to match f stop

Today I am burning some Fujiroid
    Tin Can

Quote Originally Posted by Tin Can View Post
    I am setting up a studio still life right now

Focus

I always use 1/30th with good leaf shutters to match my Packard shutters

I calculate ideal f stop first, then bellows correction for magnification, then using a flash meter I turn up my strobes to match f stop

Today I am burning some Fujiroid
    Yeah I was thinking within those lines as well. Effectively eliminating the need to calculate reciprocity as well.

Are you using modelling lamps to guide you?

Foamer

The duration of the flash is something like 1//500s to 1/1000s so shutter speed only matters if you want ambient light to appear.

Kent in SD
    In contento ed allegria