Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shanel 5A Shutter missing the lock ring for attaching to the lens board

Dann Corbit

Shanel 5A Shutter missing the lock ring for attaching to the lens board

I am just getting started in large format photography, so I imagine I will be asking a lot of questions here. (Green horn, wet behind the ears, neophyte, all of that applies)

I just bought a Fuji Fujinar 21cm 210mm f/4.5 f 4.5 Lens w/Shanel 5A Shutter for my Calumet 4x5. It has a 22 inch rail, so the lens should not be too long for the setup (though just barely).

I really like fast lenses for portraits (I use them with my hand held sized camera gear) and the lens looks really beautiful. However, on the back end of the lens and shutter, there is a threaded piece for attachment to the lens board, but no locking ring.

Is it possible to obtain a ring? I imagine that getting one machined is very expensive (possibly more expensive than buying a whole new shutter). At f4.5 the lens is massive, as you can well imagine so if I bought a whole new replacement shutter it would have to be massive as well. I am not even sure that a Copal #3 would be large enough.

So what are my options here? Ideally, I would like to get the missing part. I guess the next option would be to buy a replacement shutter. Perhaps a knurled ring with that diameter and thread pitch is used for other purposes? Or I may have to get one made. Suggestions?

Re: Shanel 5A Shutter missing the lock ring for attaching to the lens board

skgrimes has retaining rings in stock, may have the one you need. bhphotovideo.com/ is an alternative.

You must have got a great price as I see piles of these at eBay with flange for very cheap

and yes the 8" lens will work fine on the rail

flanges or rings can be hard to find...

There is a guy here trying to match up some, he is in EU

ask Kumar, he sells from Japan
    Tin Can

Dann Corbit