Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    59

    DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    I will be doing some test with a Apo Rodagon D 75mm that is optimized work between f4 and f5.6
    My question is regarding the output Brightness of the lightbox. Maybe someone here tested it and can tell me that is enough for iso 160 and a decent shutter speed.
    I see that negative supply is selling some lightboxes that they claim are 9x brighter but the price is out of my budget

    thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    7,598

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    Using the 8x11 size Kaiser Slimlite Plano and a full-frame mirrorless camera for copying B&W negatives at near 1:1 reproduction ratio, camera at ISO 100 and lens at f/4, I'm getting shutter speeds in the range 1/10-1/25, depending on negative density. So even allowing for possible differences in camera ISO calibration, aperture, magnification, and negative or transparency density compared to my setup, shutter speed shouldn't be a problem - no need to spend a lot more for a brighter box.

  3. #3

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    You just need a stable rig for longer shutter speeds. Also if you're using a DSLR make sure you're using something like 'electronic first curtain' shutter (that's what Nikon calls it). If it's actually a mirrorless see if you have an electronic shutter mode, or an EFCS mode. Shutter shock can be an issue on certain cameras, and you want to eliminate that possibility.

    The NS boxes are not shipping yet AFAIK so the Kaiser is the game at the moment, unless you want to build a diffusion box for strobes.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    7,598

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    So a qualification to my comment is in order. EFCS or full electronic shutter is important. If you're using an older DSLR that doesn't have it, then depending on the particulars of your camera and your camera support it's at least conceivable that slowish speeds like the range I'm using might induce some mechanical resonance in your system and cause trouble. If you do run into that, and want to stay at your optimal aperture, then you need either some neutral density to make your speeds slower, more light to make them faster, or a different camera. It's possible to set the Kaiser panel for an intensity lower than maximum, but it's really fiddly to set the same intermediate level consistently.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    59

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    Thanks for the info, I guess the kaiser is the option at least to start testing and see what works for me

  6. #6
    Foamer
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    2,134

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    What about a camera stand? I want to digi scan 8x10 with multiple shots using macro lens, then stitch.


    Kent in SD
    Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris,
    miserere nobis.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    13,406

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    Quote Originally Posted by Two23 View Post
    What about a camera stand? I want to digi scan 8x10 with multiple shots using macro lens, then stitch.


    Kent in SD
    Kaiser is the world leader in copy stands and lighting. If you want to stitch they also have camera arms that have adjustable positions.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    59

    Re: DSLR scanning with Kaiser Slimlite Plano 5000K question

    Quote Originally Posted by Two23 View Post
    What about a camera stand? I want to digi scan 8x10 with multiple shots using macro lens, then stitch.


    Kent in SD
    I will be scanning 4x5 and also want to make multiple shots to stich. Still looking for a good setup for this.
    I think it is better to find a way to move the film holder with precition and leave the camera always in the same place

Similar Threads

  1. DSLR scanning vs Dedicated flatbed scanning.
    By robertraymer in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 22-Jun-2019, 03:20
  2. More scanning: Best practices for DSLR scanning
    By sully75 in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3-Jan-2012, 15:37
  3. Any experience with Kaiser scanning camera?
    By Cesar Barreto in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26-Apr-2011, 06:32
  4. scanning with dslr? part II
    By boris in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 14-Mar-2011, 20:19
  5. scanning with dslr?
    By boris in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 18-Mar-2009, 20:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •