Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scanner problem - HP 4890

  1. #1
    Barry Kirsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brookfield, Vic., Aust.
    Posts
    497

    Scanner problem - HP 4890

    I was given this scanner about five years ago and it's always been temperamental; in that time I've only managed seven scans! The main problem has always seemed to me to be the software, in that what is in the booklet and online help for the model doesn't seem to correspond with what is seen on the software interface. So I'm left to work it out intuitively. I place a negative in its holder, set the scanning parameters - no major deviations from the defaults, just selecting Greyscale and size mainly. Then preview; select the frame to scan, and Save. The preview image seems good, but what is saved is totally black. I'm going nuts over this. I've tried everything I can think of, to no avail. I've removed the old software and reinstalled the latest drivers for Mac (2010 as it happens), and in the past have even contacted the local HP support, without success because they no longer support this model.

    So... does anyone have any ideas on this? Maybe someone has even had experience? The confusing thing to me is that the machine sounds as though it's working normally, AND I'm getting a good preview image, BUT no image output, just 35MB of 4x5 black. I deduce from this that the scanner is communicating with the computer - proof of this is that I get a good preview image (see screenshot) - therefore the scanner hardware is OK. So I must be doing something wrong. But what??? I really need to get this thing going and I've been letting it defeat me for too long. Grateful for any help.

    Barry

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-07-21 at 3.28.19 pm.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	52.6 KB 
ID:	206107

  2. #2
    (Shrek)
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    i have used this scanner and have experienced this problem, but for me it was only 1 in 100 scans or so and I could get it to work by restarting both the scanner and my (windows) computer. You may have a faulty scanner that has fried electronics.

  3. #3
    Peter
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Morro Bay, Ca
    Posts
    697

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    Jody's experience seems to suggest strongly that it could be the hardware, but have you tried VueScan?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    118

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    I found a G4050 in a thrift shop a couple years ago. I remembered it being horribly maligned when it came out, but for three bucks I figured, why not? On a Mac the HP software was absolutely horrible. I have Vuescan for my other scanners though and using that the scanner was pretty much just as good as the two other flatbeds I have. Color with the HP and Vuescan looks especially good. I'd say try downloading the trial of Vuescan.

  5. #5
    Barry Kirsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brookfield, Vic., Aust.
    Posts
    497

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    Thanks all. Yes I have tried VueScan... I've been playing around with it for several days, without success. However VueScan says my scanner is a ScanJet 4850C, which may or may not be equivalent. The screenshot below shows the result of a preview scan in VueScan. It does suggest that the problem is with the hardware, but it may also be that VieScan is misidentifying the scanner, since I get a preview image with the HP software but not with VueScan. Frustration, frustration!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 10.41.15 am.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	32.4 KB 
ID:	206134

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    118

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    Try the 32 bit version instead of the 64 bit version.

  7. #7
    Barry Kirsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brookfield, Vic., Aust.
    Posts
    497

    Re: Scanner problem - HP 4890

    Thanks for the idea. Tried it and it didn't even recognise the scanner. I've concluded I've got a dud.

Similar Threads

  1. Microtek Scanner problem
    By Richard Martel in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-May-2009, 18:44
  2. Anyone using HP 4890 scanner?
    By AnselAdamsX in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-Sep-2006, 07:12
  3. HP scanjet 4890 - any experience ?
    By Matus Kalisky in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-May-2006, 01:05
  4. H P 4890 scanner
    By Vick Vickery in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-May-2006, 13:47

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •