Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DIY "classic" 8x10 field camera

DIY "classic" 8x10 field camera

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-06-12 09.10.12.jpg 
Views:	195 
Size:	78.3 KB 
ID:	204696
    I was a hobby photographer since the 80s and after a long break I had started to take analog pictures again. Large format photography was still too expensive for me in the 90s, but always a dream. Last year I started again with the excuse that my daughter wanted to take analog pictures. So I took out the old SLR and 6x6 cameras and the enlargers and bought me an old 4x5 large format camera (WISTA 45N). After some time of very good experiences with 4x5 I was curious about the 8x10 format. Contrary to the used 4x5 cameras they were quite expensive on eBay. The modern crwodfunding and kit versions were efficient and well thought out, but too "pale" for my taste. That's when I missed the personality of the camera. So I decided to build one after the classic field cameras models myself. The goal was a camera that allows all movements, but does not use alternative components like drawer guides or threaded rods. I wanted something à la Shenhao, Tachihara, Deardorff etc. With lots of shiny parts.
    Since I have a well equipped workshop (I also build guitars) I started to plan. First I bought some film holders and a lens on eBay. I decided to improvise and didn't make a construction drawing, but only rough geometric calculations so that at least the worst mistakes could be avoided. Then I looked for as many pictures as possible and started to combine elements of some cameras.
    I decided to use birch and spruce plywood boards as well as beech wood strips. Not as noble as cherry etc. As a hobby guitar maker I have rosewood and maple in stock, but it was a pity to use these and the pieces I use for the guitar are too big or too small. That would have given too much waste. I painted the wooden parts with wood glaze, smoothed them with steel wool, waxed and polished them.