Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foma Fomapan 100 in rodinal : exposing and developing

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Foma Fomapan 100 in rodinal : exposing and developing

Goodmorning,

i have no experience with foma film but reading other post i saw great work with this film (fomapan 100 or arista version).

it's an old style emulsion and like other films every photographer find a personal workflow.
    In general the main problem is about real speed ( in combination with a developer) and contrast control. I read that is a high contrast film.

In Rodinal i saw fantastic shot on flickr but no much information on developing time. I need a base point for a project in hight contrast situation.

From flickr the best combinations in Rodinal are :

100iso 1+50 7-8 min

https://www.flickr.com/photos/aybala...n/photostream/
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/28854821@N04/49185589218/

50 iso 1+100 stand

https://www.flickr.com/photos/seoirseosial/48644867782/

100 iso ? 1+50 no time

https://www.flickr.com/photos/29891484@N07/49636689803/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/77126852@N00/33752069701/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/kittacabe/9982530885/

any tips ?

thank you !

Re: Foma Fomapan 100 in rodinal : exposing and developing

Since many of these appear to be scans from negative, I'm not sure how much useful information you can get from them. Scanning directly from a negative can do things no traditional paper would be capable of in terms of rescuing otherwise unusable or at least substandard negatives.

I shoot AristaEDU 100 @100 and develop in Rodinal 1+50 for 6:30 at 68 degrees. This is for hand inversion. If I'm developing 4x5 in a rotary tank I give it about 15% less time. I adjust my development time based on the temperature of my chemicals using the Ilford chart for whatever my room temperature happens to be.