Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm ready to shoot my first LF negatives -- help!

I'm ready to shoot my first LF negatives -- help!

I am ready to pull the trigger and make my first LF test photos. So excited!

Gear: Linhof Super Technika V, three lenses (150mm, 180mm and 210mm Schneider f/5.6), cable release, heavy Gitzo tripod, a focusing loupe, and tons of 4x5 Ilford FP4 film. No dark cloth to frame+focus, a black t-shirt should do. I also have a Jobo 2500 drum and reel, Ilford DD-X, stop, and fixer.

I am practicing loading the film holders first under light and then in the dark with two sheets that I sacrificed, loading the Jobo reels, first at light then under dark, focusing with open iris, stopping down, closing the lens blades, cocking the shutter, sliding out the dark slides and firing. Everything seems under control.

I have extensive experience developing 135 and 120 Ilford FP-4 (the only film I have used since the 1980s!) and the developer/fixer combo. 10min in DD-X at 68F should work with the inversion technique.

How many shots should I take and what parameters should I vary?

I thought taking two pictures with each of the three lenses, bracketing the shots by -1 and +1 to have some latitude whether the exposures came out well with the developer combination. That'll be six photos. Or should I just use one lens and bracket the exposure and use different f/stops to get a better feel for depth-of-field? Its sunny outside, so "Sunny 16" = 1/125 sec and f/16 as a starting point?

Good plan?

Thanks!

Re: I'm ready to shoot my first LF negatives -- help!

Reads like the only unknown is how the shutters work. If you already know your favorite way to expose and process FP4, you would want to know the shutters are giving the correct speeds to get your exposures correct. If all you have to test this is bracketing, then do that.