Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 4x5 or 8x10

4x5 or 8x10

Hi,

I'm new to LF but have experience in 35mm and MF, also in developing these films and printing. I have a darkroom with 2 Durst enlargers that go up till 6x7.
    I wanna take the next step and get into LF. I'm wondering if I should get into 4x5 first or just skip that and go straight to 8x10. 4x5 would allow me to scan the negatives with my epson scanner, but since I don't have a 4x5 enlarger, and I really like the printing process, I'm afraid I won't get 'hooked'. The format more portable than 8x10 and probably much cheaper as well.
    On the other hand, 8x10 would give me contact prints of decent size, would allow me to get into wet plate stuff and other nifty things like polaroid 8x10's. I really dig the 8x10 look which imho is much more special than 4x5. Any advice? Would 8x10 be too difficult to make the jump straight from Medium size?
    What if I want to make larger prints later on? How difficult is it to make your own 8x10 enlarger, let alone finding one which doesn't cost an arm and a leg?

Feedback and mentorship are much appreciated.

Thanks and stay safe in these corona times,

F

Re: 4x5 or 8x10

Welcome!
    Learning to shoot LF is less costly with a 4x5.
    Used 4x5 enlargers aren't terribly expensive.
    If you want to make 8x10 contacts, that is certainly do-able right out the gate if you have the moo-lah,
    as the cost of camera, film, film holders, lens and amount of chemicals used does go up.
    Are you interested in B&W or color?
    If you want to shoot in color, then I'd suggest 4x5 would be the format to start with.

IMHO 8x10 is no more difficult to learn than any other format. You have the same sheet film and depending on the camera, the same movements.
    Managing the size and weight of the physically larger gear is the biggest difference I can see.