Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Relevance of zone system when scanning

Chico, NorCal / Inland Empire, Southern Ca.

Relevance of zone system when scanning

Hello,

I'm just getting into large format. I know that the zone system placed exposures in the 10 zones. Exposed for the shadows and developed for the highlights, which should make a dense neg. That should give ansel the flexibility to make everything he wanted, sort of like a raw file. BUT, how does this transfer over when digitally scanning on an epson lets say? Is it even a good idea to do this if scanning or would a different technique be better?

Forgive me if this is in the wrong forum, didn't quite know which one to use.

Re: Relevance of zone system when scanning

Do some searching. There was a huge discussion over a number of threads about 15 years ago or so.

Bottom line (for me anyway) is that when used with chemical darkroom printing, a film negative is an intermediary. It lets you shoehorn the dynamic range of the scene to fit the dynamic range of the printing paper. That's really what the Zone System is about -- how to do that effectively and efficiently. And there are three major pieces to the pie: exposure, film development, and printing.

In the scanning workflow, there are really four major pieces to the pie: exposure, film development, scanning the film, and printing. This extra step of scanning lets you unload one of the major uses of film in the darkroom printing workflow -- the act of shoehorning the usually larger dynamic range of the scene to the usually smaller dynamic range of the darkroom printing paper. This is done instead using an image editor like Photoshop as part of the scanning step (or the printing step if you like that better).