Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: explain like I'm 5......... 90mm lenses

explain like I'm 5......... 90mm lenses

Hey there,

I'm new to the LF game and I have a few questions about 90mm lenses.
    As far as I can tell there are lenses like the Fujinon f/8 which are huge, and lenses like the Schneider f/6.8 which is tiny.......and faster........and cheaper.
    Are the small Schneider-type lenses really muddy? Presumably there's a reason people pay more for a bigger and slower lens......are they way sharper?

Looking into buying a 90mm but I want to know what I'm doing.

Benno

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula

Re: explain like I'm 5......... 90mm lenses

Your wish is my command!

Go potty, take a nap, eat a snack, and then get Mommy to read you some stories from the lens section of https://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Jes' plain Angulons have less coverage than modern wasp-waisted w/a lenses of the same focal length. By the way, there's also a 90/6.8 Raptar, different design than the jes' plain Angulon, same performance.

If you don't need movements the 90/6.8ers will do. If you need movements, they won't.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fromm View Post
    Jes' plain Angulons have less coverage than modern wasp-waisted w/a lenses of the same focal length. By the way, there's also a 90/6.8 Raptar, different design than the jes' plain Angulon, same performance.

If you don't need movements the 90/6.8ers will do. If you need movements, they won't.
    And the 90mm WA Geragon.

In this instance, two things make lenses bigger: Speed (maximum aperture) and coverage (size of image circle). This latter is a result of lens design: more and bigger elements are needed to do the job.