Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is this scan OK from Labo

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    58

    Is this scan OK from Labo

    Hi all,
    I got back a scan form a labo that used a X1 Flextight Imacon now I have some questions about the quality.
    For me it seems that there is a lot of 'digital noise' in the scan is this the normal behaviour of this scanner or has the labo used to much sharpening ?
    I have attached 2 screenshots, one at 100% and one at 200%. The file size is 9.185 X7.387pixels and 300 dpi.

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100.jpg   200.jpg  

  2. #2

    Re: Is this scan OK from Labo

    No. It does not look oversharpened. It looks like they tried to open up the shadows beyond what the scanner was capable of scanning, and often, depending on the film, opening up the shadows reveals more and larger film grain. You don't say what kind of film this was or what resolution (ppi) the original scan was made at. Find someone with an actual drum scanner who knows how to use it, make a new scan and see what the difference is.

  3. #3
    Steven Ruttenberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    2,290

    Re: Is this scan OK from Labo

    Do you know what the aperture setting was if it can be set on the Flextite? Iso of film and how developed. Was this slide or neg? I have taken poor images (expsoure wrong and then not doing the best at developing) that have scanned like this with my Epson. How does the film look under a loupe on the light table?

  4. #4

    Re: Is this scan OK from Labo

    There is no aperture setting on Imacon/Hasselblad/Flextight scanners. It's a CCD scanner with a fixed aperture lens, not a PMT scanner with a multi-aperture disc behind the lens.

  5. #5
    Steven Ruttenberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    2,290

    Re: Is this scan OK from Labo

    Quote Originally Posted by Sasquatchian View Post
    There is no aperture setting on Imacon/Hasselblad/Flextight scanners. It's a CCD scanner with a fixed aperture lens, not a PMT scanner with a multi-aperture disc behind the lens.
    Okay. Didn't know that.

  6. #6

    Re: Is this scan OK from Labo

    But since it uses a very broad light source compared to a drum scanner that tends to minimize the emphasis on grain in color negs that occurs in real drum scanners, requiring using a more suitable aperture for those scans.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 116
    Last Post: 16-Jan-2020, 11:10
  2. Diamantino Labo, a Paris lab
    By LF_rookie_to_be in forum On Photography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2-Nov-2014, 03:59
  3. macbook, V750, epson scan, scan speed
    By walter23 in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7-Mar-2008, 03:07
  4. what to scan...
    By srbphoto in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-Feb-2008, 23:09
  5. CannoScan 9900F... Preview Scan vs Final Scan
    By Scott Rosenberg in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-Oct-2004, 04:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •