Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How sharp can I expect from 4X5

How sharp can I expect from 4X5

Hello,

I'm fairly new to large format and I recently did an informal lens test so see what kind of sharpness I can get. I know that sharpness isn't everything, but from my initial test it looks like the 4x5 sharpness is about on par with my digital crop sensor camera. With proper technique, should I be expecting 4x5 to be better than an APS-C digital?

Film camera setup: Calumet C100, Fujinon-W 210 (older version), Tmax100 film exposed at 100, developed in replenished D-76.
    -No movements used
    -f/22 at 2 seconds (with calculated DOF almost +/-6" so focus shouldn't be that difficult)
    -heavy duty tripod and cable release

Scanning: DSLR with a 4 image stitch and 55 2.8ais Nikkor Macro. I believe that I can make out the grain so I don't think I'm loosing much detail in scanning.

Digital Camera: Nikon D5500, ISO100. Nikon 18-55 kit lens set to match 4x5 framing. Shot at f/8. This is a cheap lens but Ken Rockwell says it's darn sharp and I believe him at f8 anyways.

Re: How sharp can I expect from 4X5

You shoot the Air Force target?
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Were you shooting at infinity or close up or in between?

Drew Wiley

Yes, distinctly better IF you have your other pertinent variables dialed in, including focal plane flatness, focus itself, etc. Remember, comparing LPMM or even MTF is not the rule, but the degree of magnification of that, with 4X5 having far more surface area to begin with.