Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: FB Enlarging paper availability at B&H

FB Enlarging paper availability at B&H

I've been buying enlarging paper from B&H for many years. Lately they have less in stock & more items tagged "special order. Expected availability 2-4 weeks."
    I ordered some 16x20 Foma Variant lll (and paid on ordering plus shipping charges)
    on Sept 2..... It was delivered today Dec 16: 3 months later. Makes it tough to print a project with those kind of timelines. At the moment BH has only Ilford & a little Bergger in 16x20. From the outside it seems as if B&H is downsizing their enlarging paper inventory....

Re: FB Enlarging paper availability at B&H

I know that with Freestyle, they make bulk purchases a few times a year, but they can sell out stock in between, so a wait until the next container comes in...

I buy from them locally, but I make sure to call in advance to reserve what maybe is the last 3 or so in stock so it is there when I stop by...

Drew Wiley

You should plan to keep about six months worth of your preferred paper on hand unless its a very common Ilford product, and even certain Ilford papers can be unavailable for several months on end. It's probably a combination of several factors, including how often a particular paper is made and the amount the official importer brings in at a time. I see no evidence that B&H is lowering their commitment. You could ask them. But being a major dealer to many people, they might turn over inventory quite a bit faster too. Usually when they're out of something, so are other sources. Foma is a relatively minor player in the US, so that could be a factor too.

Andrej Gregov

That may not be a B&H issue. Foma often goes months with some paper types out of stock in the US. If you use Foma quite often, I'd suggest ordering from Freestyle. I find them more reliable for Foma inventory. That said, I've sometimes waited months for Foma to restock them. Paper manufacturer does make a difference.