Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how do you shoot 1 to 3 second exposures

how do you shoot 1 to 3 second exposures

Im new to 4x5, shooting MF for many years before. I have no issues with semi long exposures as some of my MF cameras allow for speeds up to 4 seconds, or worst case, I can use ap priority shooting and let the camera control the shutter.

for 4x5, all my lenses, and I assume most LF lenses, max out at 1 second. so suppose I meter the scene and decide that it needs 1.5 seconds, or 2 seconds, and say up to like 4 seconds. and I would prefer to keep the aperture the same, not opening up to allow a faster shutter speed. how do you take just longer than 1 second? I have taken 30 second exposure and used the T setting or B along with a stopwatch. at that length, being off by .1 second or so should not effect the exposure. but that difference could change the exposure of a 1.5 or 2 second exposure. you get what Im trying to say.

so how do you work in what I call the danger zone?

john

Foamer

Re: how do you shoot 1 to 3 second exposures

I shoot B&W and wet plate. I put shutter on B, open it, count the seconds, and close. I don't get very fancy.

Kent in SD
    In contento ed allegria
    Notte e di vogliam passar!

Let me start with the following: the accepted error for f-stop, exposure time and film ISO is usually 1/3rd of a stop (for each). 0.1 or 0.2s at 1.5 s is significantly less than that. You might see it in slide film, otherwise it is probably not discernible. Also, unless you’re using Fuji Acros or T-Max 100, reciprocity failure will take you out of those times close to 1s very fast. I just use my wristwatch for timing 2s or more. In principle, if you have your shutter speeds calibrated, 1.5s could be done by adding 1s and 1/2s exposures.

You put the shutter on T press the shutter release and count 1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi, 3 Mississippi and release the pressure on the cable release.