Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    I have one with the synch to take apart and look at, but thought to check the collective wisdom before getting out the screwdriver. Anything special I aught to know? Thanks
    brook

  2. #2
    Tracy Storer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Oakland CA
    Posts
    932

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    I have added sync to non-sync'd ones with the simple addition of an external microswitch.(available at Radioshack)
    You mount the microswitch at the top of the pistons travel so when the blades are fully open, the piston closes the switch. Make sure you don't limit the piston travel. Depending on the size of the shutter, you may be able to use a pre-existing hole to mount the switch, otherwise, a new hole will have to be drilled. (make sure you don't intereupt any moving parts with your new mounting hole and screw.)
    Tracy Storer
    Mammoth Camera Company tm
    www.mammothcamera.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    Thanks Tracy,
    I guess this would work on packards without the instantanous setting as well as those with it. This sounds (in theory anyway) easier than rigging it to the instant setting.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    831

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    Don't bother trying to differentiate the 'instant' setting from the default - just turn off the flash before opening for focusing. Keep it simple.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    Packards are so simple, there are probably a few ways to add sync. I did it by drilling a small hole in the top of the Packard housing and running an insulated two-wire cable from a PC jack on my lensboard to the inside of the shutter. On the inside, one wire is soldered to the housing, and the other is glued in place and has the insulation scraped away where the top of the shutter blade will hit it when it is fully open. Since the Packard is all metal, that makes a circuit and triggers the flash. I know it sounds simple and a little cheesy, but it has never failed to fire in the five years since I did it. Just don't let your work inside interfere with the moving parts. I was going to use a micro switch too, but this was just too easy.

  6. #6
    Tracy Storer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Oakland CA
    Posts
    932

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    The shutter I added sync to was an older two piston Packard. I positioned the switch at the top of the "I" piston rather than the "B" piston. Very simple and effective. It usually fires when opening for focusing though.
    Tracy Storer
    Mammoth Camera Company tm
    www.mammothcamera.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105

    Adding synch to a packard shutter, how to?

    The shutter I want to modify is a single piston unit with an instant setting, 8 1/2x 8 1/2 w/ 5" hole to be mounted inside an 8x10 studio camera.
    I once used a lens front mounted in an old Ilex or Universal #5. I tried to do a shutter drag by synching w/ either B or T, and instead of strobing, the strobe heads lit up like an arc welder, I thought they were going to blow up. It kept getting louder and brighter until I pulled the synch cord off the shutter. Could rigging the packard in either of the above ways do this to someone prone to forgetting to disconnect the strobe while focusing?

Similar Threads

  1. Sinar Auto Shutter or Packard Shutter?
    By Hugo_6476 in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 17-Apr-2006, 11:29
  2. packard shutter - gone?
    By John_4185 in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-Nov-2005, 15:07
  3. Wet Packard Shutter
    By brook in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-Mar-2005, 20:34
  4. Flash and synch speeds on Ilex Acme shutter
    By Robert_4194 in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-Apr-2004, 08:47
  5. packard shutter
    By bourgeois jp in forum Gear
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-Jan-2004, 10:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •