Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: New Epson Scan 2 64 bit For MAC OSX Catalina

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Doncaster UK
    Posts
    560

    New Epson Scan 2 64 bit For MAC OSX Catalina

    Having just upgraded to MAC OSX Catalina, I have installed the new Epson Scan 64 bit software.
    First thoughts of the program is "it's horrible"....

    It's slow and unresponsive compared to the older 32 bit version.
    Has anyone else tried it on the new Mac OSX and what's your view ?

  2. #2

    Re: New Epson Scan 2 64 bit For MAC OSX Catalina

    I have not upgraded yet, but tried out the Epson Scan "2" software and have to agree.

    At first, I got excited by an updated interface, a bit cleaner looking... and really love that you can do a customized file naming system, that helps a lot so I don't have to rename all my files post-scanning.

    However, being someone who does their color correction using the histogram, I've encountered a major issue. Generally, what I always do is go into the "All" histogram channel, use the black picker on the film base, bring the white point near the edge of the histogram and adjust the mid point to where I like it. Then I go into each R, G and B channels and adjust the color to how I like it. Most times, I return to the "All" channel to touch-up on the exposure at the end. In Epson Scan "1" software, adjusting the "All" histogram channel proportionately moves the individual RGB channels, so that your color adjustments are preserved. In Epson Scan "2" software, adjusting the "All" channel sets the individually RGB channels to a matching value, destroying any color adjustments you've made. Below is an example to make clear.

    Initial Adjustment
    A 70 1.25 177
    R 65 1.23 158
    G 70 1.13 178
    B 76 1.20 185

    Epson Scan 1
    A 70 1.08 178
    R 65 1.12 162
    G 70 1.02 182
    B 76 1.10 189

    Epson Scan 2
    A 70 1.08 178
    R 70 1.08 178
    G 70 1.08 178
    B 70 1.08 178

    If anyone color corrects their photos with the histogram other than switching software or not updating, would love to hear as well! Also, I did submit a support request to epson and await their response. Hopefully they have some insight besides "try unplugging and replugging the scanner back in."

Similar Threads

  1. Epson V800 - Epson Scan Vs Silverfast
    By alanmcd in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 4-Apr-2016, 09:21
  2. Epson Scan - A Workflow
    By Pete B in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9-Oct-2011, 01:00
  3. Can one change Epson 4990ís focus w/ Epson Scan?
    By Heroique in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-Sep-2009, 07:18
  4. macbook, V750, epson scan, scan speed
    By walter23 in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7-Mar-2008, 03:07
  5. EPSON 4990 epson scan thumbnail preview problem?
    By Eugene Yang in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Feb-2006, 13:52

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •