Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

  1. #1
    multi format
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    local
    Posts
    4,067

    Lightbulb Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Hello
    A friend gave me 2 sets of lens CELLS and no shutter. One set is for a 90mm Grandagon and the other is for a chrome SA. I don't have an extra shutters these could go into. Is there any way of making a barrel for these lenses? are there some made already I can buy? I'm kind of a shoestring budget person, a cobbler and cheapskate so I am hoping there is an inexpensive solution
    Thanks !
    John
    enjoy your coffee

  2. #2
    loujon
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Western, PA.
    Posts
    1,514

    Re: 90mm Grandagon Rodenstock and 90mm Super A Schneider CELLS

    Hey John I'd say finding a broken/beyond fixing the shutter blades or timing escape but with a working iris would be the "easiest/best" way of getting at the least the Grandagon making images. If it's the f4.5 version then you'll be looking for a Copal 1 and if the maximum aperture on the Grandagon is f6.8 then look for a Copal 0.

  3. #3
    multi format
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    local
    Posts
    4,067

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Thanks Louis !
    but .. are there ways to mount these cells in a barrel that doesn't cost much ?
    enjoy your coffee

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,610

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Y'know, telling us which size shutters the cells take would help a lot.

    Schneider Comparon lenses in barrel are in barrels that match standard shutters. Same tube lengths, barrel diameters and threads. If you need #0 barrels, try 105/4.5 or 150/5.6 Comparons. If you need #1, try a 135/4.5.

  5. #5
    multi format
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    local
    Posts
    4,067

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Thanks Dan !
    I didn't tell you the shutter sizes cause .. I didn't know !
    Thanks for filling in the blanks
    John
    enjoy your coffee

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    12,863

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnantz View Post
    Thanks Dan !
    I didn't tell you the shutter sizes cause .. I didn't know !
    Thanks for filling in the blanks
    John
    You don’t seem to indicate which lenses you actually have.
    Grandagon 90 4.5 needs a 1 size shutter.
    Grandagon 90 6.8 needs a 0.

    5.6 SA and most 8.0 fit a 0. Some 8.0 used a 00.

    However, while they may just screw in you might need to use a collimator to get correct spacing to get best performance from the lenses.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    7,610

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnantz View Post
    Thanks Dan !
    I didn't tell you the shutter sizes cause .. I didn't know !
    Thanks for filling in the blanks
    John
    Simple test: front and rear cells' threads different diameters, #1; same diameters and 29.5 mm, #0; same diameters and 22.5 mm, #00.

    If you need a #00, look for a 50mm or 75mm Comparon.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    477

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    If you use a camera that takes Sinar boards you could source Sinar DBM boards. They can be found relatively easy.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,586

    Re: Is there an economical way to mount 90mm Grandagon and 90mm SA cells for use?

    Sinar DBM boards are mixed. They have essentially fixed aperture scales with adjustable aperture inside and limited to f5.6 typically on the scale. If one gets a f8 or f9 or smaller aperture DBM scale, it cannot be used with a f5.6 or larger full aperture lens without replacing the DBM scale. Aperture calibration is mostly a non-issue as it can be adjusted as needed.

    Spacers with matching aperture drive pin are used between the DMB aperture assembly and lens board to accommodate the rear element distance required to clear the Sinar shutter.

    Then a Sinar shutter is needed unless one does the lens cap shutter or similar.


    Bernice

    Quote Originally Posted by Pete Roody View Post
    If you use a camera that takes Sinar boards you could source Sinar DBM boards. They can be found relatively easy.

Similar Threads

  1. Nikkor SW 90mm or Grandagon 90mm?
    By Nick Wood in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 29-Mar-2007, 11:25

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •