Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: V700 Scan line error

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges, Australia
    Posts
    86

    V700 Scan line error

    My V700 has developed a scan line fault, it appears to be consistently in the same place on the scan bed.
    It looks like a skip or slip in the scanner transport but I'm no expert.
    Anyone seen this, can recommend any fix or do I need to take it to Epson?
    Thanks, Steve

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ScanLine.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	116.8 KB 
ID:	194142
    Home is always just beyond the next photograph
    Tumut, NSW, Australia
    A Glass Eye & Three Wooden Legs

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges, Australia
    Posts
    86

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    BTW it's 90 degrees to the direction of travel and only along a part of the trannie- parallel to the long edge of the film in a standard 2 sheet neg holder.
    Home is always just beyond the next photograph
    Tumut, NSW, Australia
    A Glass Eye & Three Wooden Legs

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    267

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    >> it appears to be consistently in the same place on the scan bed.
    It looks like a skip or slip in the scanner transport<<

    You might get lucky and just need to relubricate the rails with a very light coat of lubricant. This is common for many scanners this age. Might as well open it up and give it a try (and a cleaning while you are in there). Here is some information on opening it up:

    http://www.betterscanning.com/scanning/dismantling.html

    Doug
    www.BetterScanning.com

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4,057

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    Quote Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
    can recommend any fix or do I need to take it to Epson?
    Uninstall all and then download last driver/software versions.

    I had similar issues with some updates or software in the cd that I solved in that way.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges, Australia
    Posts
    86

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    I have the latest Epson scan, but I'm not sure if I've seen this using Vuescan. Much as I dislike Vuescan I might try it again to compare. Doesn't really seem like a software issue though.
    Home is always just beyond the next photograph
    Tumut, NSW, Australia
    A Glass Eye & Three Wooden Legs

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges, Australia
    Posts
    86

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    Thanks Doug, might have to give it a try.
    Home is always just beyond the next photograph
    Tumut, NSW, Australia
    A Glass Eye & Three Wooden Legs

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4,057

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    Quote Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
    BTW it's 90 degrees to the direction of travel and only along a part of the trannie- parallel to the long edge of the film in a standard 2 sheet neg holder.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	v700.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	194160



    > As the line was in that direction it fails in all sensor length at the same time.

    > Then it only fails in a particular position in the travel of the tranie.

    > The failure saturates some pixels.

    > If it was mechanical we would have bad focus, but no saturation, so it's electronic or software

    > You have last software, so we have to guess that's electronic. That cyan color implies zero red and top green-blue.

    > It's electronic but related to mechanics because it happens in a particular position in the travel.


    ...so it should be a cable or connector ! to me the ribbon cable makes bad contact in that position because it's forced or it bends, the cable can be bad or it only may require to be unplugged-plugged.


    Anyway, when when you know what happens it would be great you report it.

  8. #8
    Alan Klein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    New Jersey was NYC
    Posts
    271

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    From Epson troubleshooting guide for the V700:

    A Line or Line of Dots Always Appears in Your Scanned Images
    The document table or transparency unit window may need cleaning. See Cleaning the Scanner.
    If you still have the problem, the document table or transparency unit window may be scratched. Contact Epson.

    https://files.support.epson.com/pdf/prv7ph/prv7phug.pdf

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges, Australia
    Posts
    86

    Re: V700 Scan line error

    Thanks but I don't think that this is the issue here.
    Home is always just beyond the next photograph
    Tumut, NSW, Australia
    A Glass Eye & Three Wooden Legs

Similar Threads

  1. Epson Scan end of file error
    By SteveH in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-May-2016, 21:37
  2. Bands in the scan from Epson V700
    By sanchi heuser in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6-Nov-2015, 11:05
  3. Epson V700 won't scan over 2400 dpi
    By Elizabeth Cox in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 22-Jul-2009, 19:09
  4. v700 color scan problem
    By stehei in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1-May-2009, 04:49
  5. scan 810 on v700
    By Songyun in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3-Oct-2008, 06:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •