Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No One Making New Lenses?

No One Making New Lenses?

I'm new to LF so I apologize in advance if this question is stupid. I've acquired a couple of used LF lenses from the big auction site, but was wondering what is still being made for LF (4x5) lens boards now days. Went to my old standby B&H Photo and couldn't find any LF lenses of the type I was expecting to use (90mm, 120mm, 150mm, 180mm, 210mm). There were a number of different lenses they classified as LF, but none of them looked like they'd fit my lens boards, and weren't the style or focal lengths I was looking for.

Is no one manufacturing new LF lenses to use on cameras like the Zone VI?

Best,
    -Tim

Re: No One Making New Lenses?

Basically, no. There was a limited run of some Apo-Sironar-S focal lengths recently, still available new at extremely high prices (for example, Badger Graphic is listing the 150mm for $2799). Cooke Optics may still be doing an occasional run of its PS945 portrait lens, again priced at many thousands of dollars.

Apart from the glass, the Copal shutters used for LF lenses are now long out of production, and by all accounts stocks of those are running out. Rodenstock, which still manufactures lenses for digital applications, has been steadily shifting toward electronic shutters and more recently also toward shutterless (barrel) mounts that rely on the electronic-shutter function of late-model digital backs.

Most of the new LF lenses I've seen have been more geared toward digital use, and at prices that would surely give you more than pause. That said, there is a tremendous number of fantastic quality lenses in the used market at prices that us mortals can afford. Query the group for suggestions. I'm sure you'll have no shortage of answers.

The limited run: https://www.linhofstudio.com/product...ens-Rodenstock

Also you have the Kang Rinpoche C 600, a modified copy of the fujinon C 600