Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: cost expectations for 8x10 restoration

cost expectations for 8x10 restoration

I'm trying to get into 8x10, as I've mentioned in other threads. I recently acquired an 8x10 enlarger for free, which was nice, though it needs some work. However, the enlarger isn't very useful until I have negatives to enlarge, so finding a camera is the next step. I'm looking for one that needs work to become usable, as I am a student on a tight budget, and a working one goes way above what I can afford. I've talked to Catlabs, as I don't live too far from them, and they have a few cameras that might work, but I don't know what old 8x10s are worth, so I have no idea if they are good deals or not. What should I expect to pay for an 8x10 that needs restoring? I'm looking for one that has all/most of the metal parts intact, but I have a wood shop where I can make replacement wooden pieces, so those being damaged is ok.

Also, do any of you guys have suggestions for other places I should check out for old "project" 8x10 cameras?

(I know asking for valuations is not allowed, but I don't think this falls under that, if the moderators disagree I'm happy to delete it)

Re: cost expectations for 8x10 restoration

The best place to find any LF camera is right on this forum.

30 days from joining you will have access to the FS and better the WTB sections.

Post your desire on Wanted to Buy before you buy...

Anything!
    Tin Can

cool, I'll wait around then I guess

And tell your story as many here want to help beginners of any age.

Quote Originally Posted by Ethan View Post
    cool, I'll wait around then I guess
    Tin Can

Quote Originally Posted by Ethan View Post
    (I know asking for valuations is not allowed, but I don't think this falls under that, if the moderators disagree I'm happy to delete it)