Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arca-Swiss Discovery - New Version of It?

Arca-Swiss Discovery - New Version of It?

Hello,

I am studying with a professor who uses an Arca-Swiss Discovery. He said although they've discontinued the Discovery, there is a new version with the same amount of movements. Any idea what this is?

I am currently using a Linhof Master Technica but am considering making the trade for an Arca-Swiss. Obviously larger movements, but what about travel-ability and weight difference compared to a MT?
    I'm confused about the telescoping rail system for Arca and it doesn't help that they don't have a website

Any insight would be much appreciated!

Thanks-

Re: Arca-Swiss Discovery - New Version of It?

What focal length lenses do you use?

The Arca uses base tilts, not center tilts. It is more of a working style preference.
    Having owned 2 Arca swiss monorails in the past, they are beautiful cameras, but I know that I prefer center(axis) tilts, not base tilts.
    You can get axis tilts if you have the additional "orbix" bearers, but this will add to the cost.

If you use lenses out to 300mm, and don't require tons of movement capabilities, I would stick with the MT. However, if you can try one out before purchasing one, I would suggest it.

-Dan

Right now, I'm just using a 150 and a 90, but who knows for the future. I'm not used to base tilts. Why do you prefer center tilts?

Look at the TechniKardan.

Quote Originally Posted by v.kapoor View Post
    Right now, I'm just using a 150 and a 90, but who knows for the future. I'm not used to base tilts. Why do you prefer center tilts?
    It's just my preference, some find base tilts perfectly fine, I just prefer center(axis) tilts. So I choose which cameras I use based on how I work with them(or not, thus selling them, haha)

-Dan

No thanks on the TechniKardan, Bob

Quote Originally Posted by v.kapoor View Post