Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First attempt at large format photography

First attempt at large format photography

Hey Guys,

Im just getting started in large format photography with a TOYO 45G and a 150mm fujinon lens. Im still waiting on a SP-445 development tank to arrive from the USA, so I have been developing my first negatives in take away containers inside my changing bag... anyone tried this before? it seems to work ok but im finding a few scratches on my film. I’ve set myself up With an Epson Perfection V800 to scan my negatives as there aren’t any good, cheap photo labs near me (2 hours from Melbourne). I’m shooting shanghai at the moment just as I am learning the basics of the development process, and i plan to switch and stick to TMax 100 for a while. im developing in ilford ilfosol 3 for 7 minutes at 1:5. quick rinse in water (I don't have a proper stop bath yet) and then 3 minutes in ilford rapid fixer. let me know your thoughts.
    LF selfies are much more difficult than I was expecting!!!

Thanks,
    Josh
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Scan MUM001.jpg   Scan Josh004.jpg  

Re: First attempt at large format photography

I think you are off to a great start. I am shooting with Shanghai GP3 lately and developing it in Rodinal. How are you developing the negatives in a take away container? One sheet at a time or a stack at a time? Scratches can be very disappointing but it is part of the learning process. You have to accept making those mistakes in order to work out the kinks in our process. Keep it up.

Nice work!
    Ain't nothing improper about using a water stop for film.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White