Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ULF Walk-in Camera?

ULF Walk-in Camera?

Hello:
    It's been a while since I've been active on the forum, and I have limited experience with large format. I am a high school photography instructor and would like to construct a walk-in camera for my students. The goal is to help student's learn by actually making and developing an image all while inside the "camera". I was hoping to use Harman's direct positive paper by special ordering a roll (24" x 66 feet).

My first thought was to build a large room with a front standard, bellows, and bed mounted on the front wall, and projecting the image inside to the rear wall. The bellows with front standard would give us the ability to fine focus. HOWEVER, I would like the student's to make close-up portraits. At an image size of 20x24", this would be larger than 1:1, perhaps at least 2:1? Using the Schneider XXL 1100mm as an example, I'm guessing I'd need more than 11 feet from the lens to the wall. If we were to shoot using direct positive paper, I'm wondering if this is even feasible given the ultra slow nature of the direct positive paper and the "bellows" factor? We have six 1,000ws Profoto heads, but even this may not be enough light!?

When I talk about close-up portraits I'm suggesting a 20x24" image which is the subject's chin to brow. Any insight or guidance on how to approach a walk-in camera for ULF portraits of this nature will be appreciated. (The walk-in will be helpful to develop the image in trays right inside the "camera", thus it functioning as a darkroom as well.) Thank you in advance.

Re: ULF Walk-in Camera?

When I was teaching at a university, I had a student use a box that a large refrigerator/freezer is shipped in to make a pinhole camera. Two people could stand in the camera during taking the photo, even burning or dodging. Once the exposure was made, the paper was rolled into a tube and processed in the schools darkroom.