Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help Toyo View D45M Focus problems

Help Toyo View D45M Focus problems

Hello all,
    I am new to LF photograhy but have been taking and printing my own photos for quite a few years. I recently purchased a Toyo D45M. The problem I am having is that the focus is shifted, I focus on an object and on the GG it looks great, but when I look at my negatives what I focused on is soft and things a few feet back from it are very sharp. I have checked the fresnel lens and GG and it looks like it is installed correctly from info I found online from Toyo. This model camera seems to have come with the fresnel lens installed from the factory, all the D45m's I see have one. What could be the problem, I am at a loss? Any help is appreciated.

Re: Help Toyo View D45M Focus problems

Consider 5 things.
    Format
    Lens FL
    Where to focus
    DOF desired
    Aperture desired

This free tool is useful

http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

After that you have movements.
    Tin Can

I know where I am focusing and about DOF etc. the focus is never on the object I focus on for example a still life of a camera on a shelf, the camera turns out soft and and behind it is sharp. Thank you for the link that tool looks very useful, I will try some of the suggestions there.

Tin Can

If the focus you get on the film is clear for objects further away that the ones you focussed on in camera then the film is closer to the lens than the ground surface of your ground-glass. Two initial possibilities:

The ground-glass might require a fresnel between it and the camera lens. The effect of a fresnel is to shorten the optical distance between the ground-glass and camera lens. If the camera was designed to incorporate such a fresnel and it is missing then the ground-glass is too far from the camera lens and you will get the back-focussing problem you see.