Thread: large format - noninterchangable bellows

large format - noninterchangable bellows

I've been looking at field cameras on ebay, but find when I research and look up the specs, some of them have noninterchangable bellows. which is ok, since I don't do much wide

angle, and wouldn't have a need for bag bellows. But my question is, when the bellows are damaged, how do you replace them? Do you have to send it in for repairs, for can it be done in a relatively simple manner with the removal of a few screws. The camera in question is a Horseman. I'm fairly new to LF, and am taking a class in LF at our local Community college I have a Cambo monorail, but lugging it around is going to get old pretty quick. Thanks in advance for your help.

Kathy Odiorne

Older cameras like Korona, Ansco, Empire, Kodak have their bellows glued to a wooden frame which is in turn attached to the frame with screws. All you have to do is look under the pleats at each end and you will find the screws.

Good luck with your hunt.

My take is that you have a line on a Horseman with a bad bellows. Correct? If we knew what, exactly, was wrong with the bellows in question we might be able to tell you if it can be repaired at home. Replacements for that camera are available, of course.

About the rest of the cameras in the world, the answer is All of The Above in your questions.

Kathy,

Assuming the camera you are looking at on eBay is the one with the creases in the bellows you should not have to worry. As long as the bellows are light tight the creases will have no effect beyond cosmetic (and hopefully keeping the priuce low for you). I used a Horseman FA for many years with creases in the bellows and never a problem. To give you some guidance on a reasonable price, Midwest usually sells the Horseman FA in near mint condition for ~ 1200-1300. ?