Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fujinon T 400mm F/8

Fujinon T 400mm F/8

I just read in Simmons "Using the View Camera" that the Fujinon T 400mm f/8 has a bellows draw at infinity of just 10.4". Since my Wista 45 DX has a 12" bellows, this lens should work with this camera. But I just want to make sure before I spend any more $$$. Is this correct?

Thanks.

Ed

Re: Fujinon T 400mm F/8

You're good. Fuji says it has a flange focal distance of 252mm. Assuming 305mm of draw (you said 12") you should be able to focus down to 1.45m.

If you get it and like it, will you send me a PM with your thoughts? I'd like to have something in this focal length for my Wista 45VX. I have heard (the usual Internet hearsay) that the Fujinon 400mm is a better performer than the 300mm (but I have no personal knowledge of how either does).

Rob

I just bought one last week, and the draw @ infinity is right around 10.4". I have mine mounted on a Cambo SC, and I've been "view testing", since the weather is bitterly cold now. The image circle is supposed to be 220mm @ f/22. Don't have any reason to believe differently, yet.

I also have Super Graphic and Sears Tower 4x5 cameras, and I tried it out on both of them; it's going to be a tight squeeze for much less than infinity focus on either one. But, for far landscapes, and little movement, it should work out with either of them.

Mine came from a Japanese dealer on eBay, and the lens is mint. Not a scratch, dust, etc., the f/stops are firm along with the shutter speed dial. It came mounted on a Toyo lens board, but I already have Cambo, Graphic, and Busch boards drilled for Copal #1.
    Best,
    Dennis

I’ve used the 400T for 4-5 years on my Linhof Master Technika IV and it has been a good performer. The bellows draw at infinity is as described by Ed above. On my MT IV Classic I can also use the 600T, and I’ve liked the results with it too.
    Last edited by JMO; 13-Feb-2021 at 10:15.
    ... JMOwens (Mt. Pleasant, Wisc. USA)