Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Correct lens board for 4x5 Chamonix and a few other beginner things

Question Correct lens board for 4x5 Chamonix and a few other beginner things

Hi everyone,

i'm fairly new to the LF game and i'm about to venture into it all. I'm most certainly going to buy a 4x5 Chamonix 45H-1. I've been eyeing a few lenses from Nikon, but they are without a lens board and i'm not sure what kind of board I need to get for them? The lens i'm looking at right now is a Nikon 8/120mm Nikkor-SW S. On the chamonix website I can pick between a sinar type or linhof type lens board, I'm not quite sure if they apply? If not, where can I get one?

Then I wanted to know if anyone could recommend me a good place to get a good dark cloth and a cable release?

Thanks!

Jahan from doyoudevelop

Re: Correct lens board for 4x5 Chamonix and a few other beginner things

Hello Jahan, all of the Chamonix 4x5 cameras take Linhof-style lens boards. I believe they offer one model of 5x7 that takes Sinar-sized boards and the 8x10 models also take Sinar-sized boards.When you shop for and/or buy a lens you will take note the size of shutter it has (e.g. Copal 0, 1 or 3) and get a lens board with an appropriately sized hole for the size shutter you have. Chamonix offers their own carbon fiber boards. You can find inexpensive Chinese clones on eBay that work. I use a "Luland" Linhof sized lens board with my Nikkor W 210/5.6 in a Copal 1 shutter on my Chamonix 045-N1.

With regard to the cheap chinese lens boards, notice that some work and others don't. I have a couple of them that were wasted money, one doesn´t fit because the shape is close but not the same, the other is too thin and moves inside the standard.
    I`m not saying avoid third party boards, just make sure they work or buy with an easy returning policy.

BTW, I`m not sure the Nikkor 120/8 is a 4x5" lens. If I remember it correctly, the 120/8 SW *is* an 8x10" lens.