Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Large format - need help about telephoto lenses!

New to Large format - need help about telephoto lenses!

Hello all!

I am new to this forum and indeed large format photography! My apologies if I have posted in the wrong place, but really looking for some help with kit questions. thank you so much in advance!

I am a student, and have just bought a Wista 45DX camera, and building up my new kit, film holders, lens cloths, loupe etc etc.

The college where I study have a few lenses (150mm, 210mm etc) which I have access too. However, I am really looking for a longer lens to do landscapes with.

I believe the maximum bellows draw for my Wista is 300mm? Can anyone please recommend any lenses (basically as long as possible) that I can use? I think that certain tele lenses have a shorter 'flange focus distance than 300mm? please correct me if I am wrong! Still very much a novice in this field! I am a student so preferably not something that will break the bank also haha.

Additionally, has anyone used lens boards like this one?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Extension...gQj:rk:15:pf:0

also, are there any cheaper options for this kind of thing? £100+ inc. postage and taxes seems like a lot no?

Am I correct in saying that with this lens board, I could almost use a 400mm lens say if its of tele variant?

Thank you so much for sharing all your knowledge and experience!

Cheers,

Lorien

Re: New to Large format - need help about telephoto lenses!

Lorien, this was the Nikon catalog.

In pages 9 to 11 see the flange focal distance parameter: http://www.kennethleegallery.com/pdf...rmatLenses.pdf fot Nikon tele lenses.

This is the required distance from the inner ground glass surface to the outer side on the lensboard, or the hat on it.

Also google schneider tele-xenar (and tele arton) to get info at manufacturer's web for antique and new T lenses.

Also check Fujinon catalogs/datasheets for Fujinon T.

multiplex

hi lorien