Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How does the Sinar F2 compare to the P2?

How does the Sinar F2 compare to the P2?

Pretty much what the title says. I have a 4x5 P2, and I'd like to move up to 8x10 at some point. At first I was assuming I could just find a conversion kit, but now I'm realizing that everything to do with 8x10 for the P2 is hard to come across...the entire camera rarely pops up on eBay, let alone a conversion kit. Meanwhile, KEH has an F2 in stock right now, and I could just use the rear standard from that thing.

Should I consider the mashup? I've never used another studio camera before and I'm not sure how much I'll miss the geared movements. I'm assuming it should be fine stability wise, even if it's not quite as robust as the P2

Re: How does the Sinar F2 compare to the P2?

The F2 is a fine camera; I used one on the job for over 15 years. It should serve you well, and be significantly lighter than a model P or P2. Since the Sinar is a modular system, 'mashups' are quite common. I'll leave it to the true experts to advise you on 8x10 conversions.

Having used both the F2 and P 8x10 including "mash-ups", the real question is what will this 8x10 camera be used for? This is a critical and absolute question as even a Sinar 8x10 F2 is NOT really portable, IMO hauling around a P2 outdoors is not wise in many, many ways. The precision geared movements of a P makes a lot of sense when used in a controlled studio or similar indoor environment, Outdoors are such precise and compound movements really needed? The more ideal trade off for outdoor stuff within the Sinar system could be a 8x10 Norma. These are better built and more precise with lower weight than a F2. While it does not have the geared precision of a P, the Norma is more often beyond good enough.