Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beginner Darkroom Printing Question

Beginner Darkroom Printing Question

I appreciate this question probably has many answers all of which may be right but I am interested in reading how the more experienced darkroom printers work.

Scenario.
    White Flowers against a dark textured background still life.

Using no filters in the diffusion enlarger (white light), I established the shortest time (15seconds) for the blacks with detail. Having found this time, the whites in the flowers looked a little grey to me.

Apart from careful dodging (which I am not that good at just yet) during the base exposure which is only 15 seconds, how would you get the whites back into the flowers. I do own a set of Ilford MG contrast filters and I am printing on to Ilford MG RC Pearl paper.

Ian

Re: Beginner Darkroom Printing Question

Ian, you have to increase contrast, first try with filter 3 to 3.5.

Exposure time for filters 00-3.5 is the same; that for filters 4-5 is double.

After some tests I'd recommend you start using split grade printing, this is making two exposures, one with 0 or 00 filter, and the other with 5 filter. Depending on in you expose more time with the 5 or the 00 the print will have more or less contrast, but then you have the chance to burn or to dodge certain areas while you have inserted the 00 ot the 5 filter, so you have local contrast contral, added to local exposure control.

For split grade printing when you shorten 1s the exposure with the 00 filter then you extend 2 seconds the exposure with the 5 filter, because the 4, 4.5 and 5 filters require 2x more time...

I'm happy that you engage wet printing, that's a nice trip. It would take a while until you get powerful results, but this is something that will make you a better photographer, because you will think in the print when you are adjusting a shooting, IMHO.

OK, this goes back to basic exposure control...