Thread: newbie question - mounting lens and shutter

newbie question - mounting lens and shutter

A very very newbie large format question. I've been shooting digital for a few years now. On a whim I bought a used Bender 4x5 view camera.

I have a chance to buy a Schneider lens with Copal 0 shutter, but I'm not sure if the lensboard its on is compatable with my camera. If I have to, is it fairly straightforward to mount the lens and shutter on a new lensboard, assuming I get the right size board with correct size hole for this shutter?

Sorry if this is unbelieveably simple question, Regards, David.

Very straightforward: there's a retaining ring which threads onto the rear of the shutter, which squeezes against the back of the lensboard to hold the shutter and lens in place. Since the rear elements of most lenses are larger than the hole the shutter needs, unscrew the len's rear element and then unscrew the retaining ring. There's a special tool sold for that (called a "lens wrench" or something like that,) or you can find something else to fit into the notches on the retaining ring. Note that after removing the rear lens element the shutter blades are exposed and just sitting right there, very easy to damage. Be ultra-careful not to touch them!

Once the retaining ring is unscrewed, remove the lensboard and replace it with the new one, screw the retaining ring back on and then the rear lens element. You're done. Good luck!

PS: No, really: be very very careful around that shutter. You won't like the repair costs if you slip!
    Politically, aerodynamically, and fashionably incorrect.