Thread: Compatibility of various older Arca Swiss models?

Compatibility of various older Arca Swiss models?

Hi all,

I’m new to large format and want to go 8x10 for contact prints.

I’m attracted to somehow getting a lightweight monorail for field use. I’m considering an older Arca Swiss Model A 8x10. It only comes with the main rail and front and rear standards; it does not come with an additional front standard or with extension rails to make extreme close-ups. Also for sale in a separate listing, however, is a Model B front standard that can serve as the second front standard for extensions.

1. Does anyone know if Model B and A parts are compatible, I.e. same standard dimensions so that there would be no problems affixing bellows? As well, same rail dimensions?

2. Anyone know what kind of extension rail would be needed if the B and A parts are indeed compatible?

Thanks!
    André

Re: Compatibility of various older Arca Swiss models?

I should also add, can anyone tell me at what distance the supplementary front standard and bellows is effective? While I would like to eventually do portraits, this camera will mostly be used in field from distances of at least 15 feet for landscape. Maybe the front isn’t even necessary.

Thanks again

Oswald (older Arca like yours) era bellows do not fit on the front of their standard. I have this recollection of having seen a special Arca Oswald era center standard used for this purpose, to connect two bellows. But, you could spend years waiting for one to show up on EBay.

I have a model "A" front standard and a Classic F bellows. Being careful, I was able to attach to the Classic F bellows to the front of my "A" front standard. It appeared to be light-tight. You want to make sure that your foam seal is good. I'm not sure whether an Oswald lensboard will fit on a Classic F. But, I have a Classic F recessed lensboard that fits fine on my "A" front standard.