Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making new Belliws

Making new Belliws

*bellows

I'm new to LF. Just picked up an 8x10 woody by Ralph J Golsen CA. 1920s-ish. Would love if anyone had helpful suggestions for folks building new bellows for old machines like this, very preferably in red and also preferably in a newer synthetic material. Aiming for below the $200 price point if possible. Not sure what's realistic.

Many thanks for any assistance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by TINYuproar; 30-Apr-2018 at 12:22. Reason: "Bellows" spelled wrong in title.

Re: Making new Belliws

Out of curiosity, will the back accept standard 810 film holders?

$200 is likely not realistic. Figure more like $350+
    If you want it done right, remove the bellows, with frames intact and send it to Custom Bellows in the UK...

http://www.custombellows.co.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Salomon View Post
    Out of curiosity, will the back accept standard 810 film holders?
    I honestly have no idea. It's a bit of a project. Looks to be all there. Just bought it Sunday. Should have it to my house by the 3rd (Thursday). I'm pretty much as green as it gets. I have 4x5 experience with cut film/Polaroid/Grafmatic backs. But I've never touched an 8x10. I'm sortof picking things up from reading a lot. But it's markedly noticable that I had to buy a project if I wanted to try my hand at this. New 810 cameras are I'm the $5k USD range and I'm more around the $300-$500 range. Honestly, any info anybody can rustle up would be helpful. I've been studying the new 810 cameras from Intrepid for design clues on how to do proper repairs on this one. There are so few video/how to resources on each camera model. So much is DIY and just kind of make it up as you go. If you've got great resources I'm all eyes and ears. The LF culture seems pretty lacking here in the US.

Quote Originally Posted by BradS View Post
    $200 is likely not realistic. Figure more like $350+