Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ilford Galerie Fiber dev'd w/ Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol, thoughts?

Ilford Galerie Fiber dev'd w/ Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol, thoughts?

Just curious if anyone has comments on the tonality, color, or whatever of Ilford Galerie (G2 or 3) in either Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol?

I'm giving Galerie a try to see how I like it. I have never used a graded paper before. These are the 3 developers I have on hand - though I would consider something else if it's imperative.

Of course I'll try a variety of things but just thought I would ask.
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram | Portfolio
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

Re: Ilford Galerie Fiber dev'd w/ Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol, thoughts?

Expose the same negative on each and see which you like.

Yes, I know...just curious to hear other's thoughts and experience.

It may be more beneficial to make a scientific guess at the expected outcomes and then determine if you achieve the expected results.
    I would expect that the Neutol WA will produce a flatter/warmer image than the other two - unless you expose longer and/or develop longer.
    Never used the Ansco 130 but I would expect it to be deeper blacks.
    I hate dektol. Not because of its tonality but because of its short lifespan .

While you are at it - Try split developing - 1/3 time in cold developer (or until blacks form) + rinse + time in warm developer to completion.
    and other way around. Note its effect on midtones.
    The magic you are looking for is in the work you are avoiding.
    http://www.searing.photography

I use Ilford Galerie paper- digital paper but basically a grade 4 and I have used dectol and the Ilford Multigrade I like them both..